2014 WA Australian of the Year – Australian of the Year committee 

2013/14 Western Australian of the Year – Celebrate WA

2013 Order of Australia (AM) – Australian Government

2011 Social Entrepreneur of the Year with Michael Henderson (ISTIH) – EY

  • The President’s Medal – Thoracic Society of Australia and NZ, 2008
  • The Wagner Medal, International Mesothelioma Interest Group, 2004
  • The Premier’s Science Award, Western Australia, 2004
  • The Young Investigator Award, Thoracic Society of Australia, 1985
  • The Eric Saint Award, Asbestos Disease Society, 1998

Bruce has won three UWA Teacher-of-the-Year awards.